Getting Personal

May 3, 2011 at 1:40 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

In an effort to stay inspired, I’ve been reaching out to some of the amazing photographers that inspire me and you wouldn’t believe the responses I’m getting. I guess I never realized how incredibly personable some photographers can be, now that’s not to say that they are all that way, but the best ones are of course. ;)

Candice Benjamin is an AMAZING photographer in the Los Angeles/Orange County area. I first found out about her and Ashley Goodwin, when they were part of Jasmine Star’s CreativeLIVE Workshop and I’ve been in love with both of them ever since. After a few shout outs to Candice via Twitter, she told me to send her some of my second shooting questions for a post she was planning to write. Boy was that a mistake, her inbox was soon taken over by my GIANT email, but guess what?! To my surprise, she actually wrote me back! You can’t even fathom the excitement that ensued, when I opened my inbox and an email from Candice Benjamin was sitting there. On top of that?? She mentioned me…IN HER BLOG!! I die.

Ashley Goodwin, you’re incredible, ’nuff said. No, but seriously, I know I said it before, but I can see so much of myself and my desire to be creative in Ashley. The post she wrote today? Ridiculous! (in a good way of course) She’s out there, taking risks, going after her dreams, and simply putting herself out there, which is what I strive for in my life and I think everyone should. When she saw mine and Candice’s tweets regarding second shooting, she wanted in on the questions I asked, so I sent them over to her. I couldn’t believe my eyes when she actually emailed me back! Emails from both Candice and Ashley in my inbox?? Highlight of my MONTH! I digress. One of the emails that Ashley sent me was SOO incredibly sweet, thoughtful, sincere, genuine, and personal, that it stopped me in my tracks. I was sincerely honored that she took the time to send me such a detailed, compassionate email.

Rachel Martino is an unbelievably talented photographer who owns Hello, Gorgeous Photography in Cape May, New Jersey. I was actually given her name by one of my fellow 20 Something Blogger Team Members. After a few shout outs to Rachel via Twitter, we moved to emailing and eventually to chatting. When I emailed her my 5 billion questions, (no for reals, there were a ton) she wrote me back an even longer email! I loved it! Our daily chats about life, photography, and just generally random stuff are so much fun and I am so thankful to have “met” such a genuinely kind-hearted person, not to mention a crazy awesome photographer!

What’s the point of this post? To talk about how inconceivably amazing Candice, Ashley, and Rachel are..DUH!! The point of my post is that there are people out there willing to help, willing to answer questions, and willing to lend a hand if you just ask. Ask questions. It’s simple. Put yourself out there. That’s what I’m doing, what’s the worst that will happen? They say no, or don’t respond. So what? I asked some questions and guess what? Candice, Ashley, and Rachel were all incredibly kind in not only answering them, but sharing their stories with me and letting me know I’m not alone.

That’s what means the most to me in this world, relating to one another, knowing that someone is going through or has gone through a similar situation. The fact that these women chose not only to share their personal stories with me, but to give me advice and guidance on where to go next, means the world to me. Thanks ladies!

pink lilly

(this is a photo I took that actually won a local photography contest back in CA)

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. No, thank you! Asking questions is the one thing that helps everyone! I’m just glad I can help and answer them! :) You are such a sweet person, and I’m glad you reached out! :)

  2. Stop with the sweetness! I can’t handle it all, my heart is going to EXPLODE!!!!!!!!! Seriously though, it is. & I felt silly writing that post, but I am so happy that it wasn’t just a rant and other people could relate…made me feel like I wasn’t the only one out there. :)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

