Our Story

August 20, 2008 at 4:09 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

The past few years have been some of the most amazingly difficult, rewarding, and altogether strange years of my life. I’ve definitely learned a lot about myself, that’s for damn sure.

In 2006, I met the love of my life, fell madly in love within the span of a month, and then was abruptly ripped away from him in a matter of seconds. I could’ve never (in a million years) predicted that I’d get to know someone as well as I did in that month’s time only to be torn apart for what turned out to be 19 months. In a little over a year and a half I got to know this amazing man I call mine better than most people get to know their partners over 30+ years of marriage.

I know, I know, it sounds like some sappy romance movie right? Like The Notebook or Cold Mountain, but I’ll tell you what, you want to really get to know someone? I mean fully, deeply know someone? Write letters back and forth every day for 19 months, and when I say every day, I mean absolutely every single day. I literally have binders and boxes full of letters. I told him once that we probably killed an entire rain forest worth of trees and we pretty much own a post office from what we paid in postage.

As odd as it sounds, I wouldn’t trade any of it for the world. The experience has made not only our relationship stronger, but both of us stronger as individuals. We got to know each other and ourselves on an entirely different level than I can even put into words. They say that long distance relationships never work, well we definitely proved that cliché wrong. We saw each other three times in 19 months and we couldn’t do anymore than hold hands or kiss, but I can’t even begin to describe to you how incredible it felt just to hold his hand, let alone kiss his lips or look into his eyes.

He was supposed to be back in town in April of 2007 and didn’t end up getting back into town until November. He finally came home in February of this year. I can’t believe it’s been seven months already, time flies by when you’re caught up in day to day life, that’s for sure.

I thank God every day for bringing him into my life and showing me such an incredibly amazing love that I never even thought was possible. It might sound strange to some, but I even thank God for putting us through such a horrendously difficult experience because had things not happened exactly the way they did, who knows where we’d both be today.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OH I love you both sooo much!! : ) I am so glad hes finally home with you.

  2. Wow you realy know how to make people feel that i all most teared up and i was there crying with you at some times lol or just listening to you talk about him you truely in love and i see it in your face in your pics and in your voice or the way you touch each other(in the few times ive seen you together) again i saw WOW way to go on expressing your feelings 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

