Accountability

February 6, 2009 at 2:03 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Has someone ever given you a form of criticizim that was intended as a negative thing or even as an insult, but in reality you thought to yourself “I love that about myself!” or “Is that a bad thing?”.

A few months ago, I was talking to someone from my past and they said to me, “You really just hold people too accountable for their actions.” 

This statement of course flabgergasted me because isn’t that the foundation of any relationship? That you hold not only the other person accountable for their actions, but you too are responsible for your own actions.

The point that this person was trying to get at (I’m guessing here) was that I am not forgiving when someone messes up or makes a mistake. On the contrary, I am a very forgiving person. So much so that it has been to my detriment in the past. But I’m done with being that person. That is not to say that I am not a forgiving person anymore, I am just more careful with who I give my trust to.

It was so surprising to me to hear that said about me as if it was a bad thing because I think it’s a very good attribute to have. I also think that we should be able to hold each other accountable for our actions and that people should take responsibility for their actions because if not what kind of world would this be?

So YES! perhaps I hold people accountable for their actions. Damn straight!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

