The End of an Era

February 6, 2009 at 4:07 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

For the past 7 years, I’ve been in college. Yes, that’s right 7 years! (For those of you trying to do the math I started college when I was a senior in high school through the College Connections program.)

This May, (May 24th to be exact) I will graduate with my Bachelor’s in Business Administration with a concentration in Entrepreneurship and Small Business Management. I know, it’s quite a mouthful right?

Lately I’ve been pondering the age old question, “Where do I go from here?” One generally asks them self this question when they’ve come to a sort of crossroad in life: after a breakup, when someone close to them dies, and so on and so forth.

Asking myself this question has brought up a BAZILLION other questions, which of course are floating around (crashing around is probably a better phrase) inside of my head and those questions breed and give birth to a whole new generation of questions of course.

Now, perhaps if I lived in a “college town” there would be a lot more options for me, but seeing as though I live in a town that doesn’t give a flying you know what if you have a degree there are virtually NO options for someone with a degree. Yes, my degree will look good on a resume and possibly make a better impression than someone without a degree, but again in this town it is very rare for an employer to value higher education.

Since we are fully intending to move to Alaska one day, (given recent events, potentially one day SOON, fingers crossed) the town in which I live is irrelevant to my future job options, but it’s the question of what to do in the meantime that’s puzzling me.

This is like the end of an era. An era of sitting in boring class after boring class. If I had actually chosen a degree that interested me, maybe I wouldn’t have been so bored in class. Of course when I chose my degree, my full intentions were to potentially open my own business one day, but after seeing, first hand, the responsibilities of running your own business, I know that it’s not for me, at least not right now. That’s not to say that I haven’t gained a TON of knowledge from my degree, but in this town all of that knowledge isn’t really applicable.

It’s a nerve-racking, yet completely exciting time because there are SOOO many possibilities laid before me. Only time will tell and I have complete faith that everything will happen exactly as it’s supposed to, but being the famously impatient me, I want to know what’s going to happen RIGHT NOW! I’m such a planner it makes me sick, but of course the old cliché “Life is what happens while you’re busy making plans” rings true throughout my entire life journey.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Alaska?! Will be an adventure that’s for sure!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

