Graduate School

February 8, 2009 at 4:46 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Lately, I’ve been debating graduate school. I go back and forth on this subject almost daily. If I could have any job, I would want to be a School Counselor. Through the years I’ve teeter tottered and thought of all sorts of different jobs I might want to do, but I ALWAYS seem to come back to the field of Psychology/Counseling and specifically to the career of School Counselor.

It’s hard for me to decide because it’s always been very important to me to be a stay at home mom. My mom wasn’t around when I was younger because she was out making a living in order to support the two of us. So, in all due respect to my mother, I virtually raised myself and spent most of my time alone. Thus, my extreme desire for being a stay home mom was born.

That’s not to say that there aren’t many women out there that can both have a successful career and fully participate in their children’s lives because they’re absolutely are and hey, that may end up being the scenario for me. But as of right now, my first priority when it comes to my future family is to be able to stay home with them for, at the very least, the first few years of their lives.

After many hours of debating and overanalyzing (my all encompassing past time), I’ve decided that, for now, it’s best for me (and for us) to put the idea of graduate school on the back burner. It’s more important for us to get our debts paid down and have better financial footing in order to be able to start our lives together.

Why is it that we, as women, feel that constant tug-o-war between the various roles we take on within our lifetime? Am I the only one who struggles with this? Surely not! At least I hope I’m not alone in this.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I feel the constant tug of war, but in an opposite way. I am a woman who has no maternal instinct and no real desire to ever have children of my own. Anytime I voice this opinion people always look at me like they feel sorry for me and tell me I’m going to change my mind (which may very well happen). They have a hard time accepting my decision. Regardless, there will always be someone who is going to judge and demands that will be placed on us. in the end, you just have to do whats right for you.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

