Feeling Hopeful Inspite of Everything

February 20, 2009 at 3:32 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

So about a week ago my boss came to me to let me know she’s retiring. This was not all that shocking to me because I’ve seen this coming for awhile. I also have access to her email and have seen the emails she’s been sending back and forth with her business advisor. The irritating part is that she basically told me that I’m not going to have a job in two weeks. My last day is the 27th! Thanks for barely giving me 2 weeks’ notice!

When I originally started this blog, I wasn’t quite sure if I was going to blog about work or not. Part of me wants to steer away from talking about my work life, but the other part of me asks why? Perhaps I’ll just talk about it here and there and not mention details.

I digress. As you might imagine, I’m pretty frustrated with the entire situation. Luckily, last year I started looking for a different job for many different reasons. Not getting paid enough, no room for growth, not wanting to go into this industry, and etc. I landed a job with a marketing company in town and I started working there in January. I’ve been working 20 hours a week at both jobs since then and that was the plan for awhile. My new boss and I were planning to eventually up my hours and make me fulltime, but only once he could justify the need and once my position started paying for itself.

As a consequence of my old boss retiring, I’ve had to approach my new boss about moving me to fulltime and whether or not it’s going to happen right away. I told him that I can’t afford to not have fulltime income. When we first talked he said that we need to get me working on more billable projects, in order to justify upping my hours, which is totally understandable. So we set a date to talk about it and today was that day.

He’s had a crazy week this week, he was gone all week (although working remotely), but he lost a whole day’s worth of work because his internet wasn’t working. When we met today, he said that he’s going to be working all weekend and that by Monday he’ll have a better idea about upping my hours. He really couldn’t give me a definitive answer or guarantee anything at this point, which is really disappointing, but at least he’s honest with me.

We actually had a nice talk about my degree. I was sort of frustrated that he couldn’t give me a definitive answer and I started ranting about my degree and how no one cares about education in this town. I wasn’t saying that he was one of those people at all, I’m just frustrated that I’m about to graduate with my Bachelor’s and I can’t get a job paying anything worth a damn. It’s this town really, as I’ve mentioned in one of my previous blogs. The people who make a decent living in this town are either doctors/lawyers/dentists or they work for a big box company. My mom has no college education and barely graduated high school, but she makes $20/hour at Costco, but the trade off for that is that she busts her ass and her job is physically draining.

Anyway, when I was venting about my degree, my boss said, “Well it does matter to us. And the beauty in working for a company like ours is that you have a lot more potential for growth. If you work for one of those companies you’re just going to do your same job and get your same raise every year or every quarter or whenever. But here you have so much more room to grow and potential to really prove yourself and show that you’re an asset to the company and make a difference.” It was so awesome for him to say that and it really gave me hope.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed and hoping that I’ll be put to fulltime right after I lose my other job. All I can really do is wait and see though. I’ve sent some resumes out, but most employers aren’t willing to work with a school schedule, which is disappointing, but understandable from a business aspect. This new job has so much potential and maybe it will even end up being a job that I can eventually do remotely, which would be completely ideal for me since we want to move to Alaska and also because I want to be a stay at home mom.

Who knows? Only time will tell. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It seems like a great opportunity!! The best of lucks for you!!

  2. Keeping my fingers crossed for you!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

