Relief, Frustration, and Pondering

February 25, 2009 at 7:39 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Yesterday my boss came to me to see if I’d be able to work for her for another two weeks. After looking at all of the things she needs to do before she retires, she came to the realization that she’s going to need me there to help her for another two weeks. I was surprised when she said she needed me for two more weeks. I wasn’t really surprised at the fact that she needs me because I could’ve told her that. She’s trying to cram six months to a year’s worth of work and preparation into two weeks and that’s just not possible. But I was surprised that she asked me to continue working for the next few weeks because I had been fully preparing myself to be done there this Friday.

Of course I was relieved to hear that I’ll still have full time hours and income because my new boss still can’t tell me whether I’ll be working full time right away or not. So me working for her for two more weeks gives him a little bit more time to figure out whether he can afford to make me full time or not.

I’m really getting frustrated with my new job because as of right now there’s really nothing for me to work on. So I spend my days mindlessly surfing the internet, seriously that’s my job, the project he has me working on is to surf the internet and find specific sites regarding this new site he’s building.

I know it sounds wonderful to have a job that pays you to surf the internet, not to mention a job that pays you to sit and read your book or check your personal email, but honestly it’s not as glamorous as it sounds. I’d much rather have a job where I’m constantly doing something so that my day would go by quicker. As awesome as it sounds to get paid for doing nothing, it’s quite boring and unsatisfying. Although I am writing this blog right now and getting paid to do it, so that’s a plus! 🙂

I’ve been searching for full time positions, just in case I’m not given full time hours right away and the job market is horrible right now. The positions that are available have so many people applying to them that they have their pick of the litter so to speak. Most places, especially office jobs, aren’t willing to work around a school schedule so I’m not even an option for them.

One lady told me that mine was the best resume she’d seen out of 50+ resumes, but that the position is part time with no potential to become full time and her concern is that I’m so overly qualified already and that once I graduate in May I’ll be seeking a full time job with a lot more room for advancement. Which honestly she’s right about that, but if I found an awesome job now that paid well and was something I really liked to do I’d be in it for the long haul. But I definitely see where she’s coming from.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Its good that you get a few more weeks of a steady paycheck. The economy is scary right now. I hope you find something you like soon!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

