Things Are Looking Up

March 12, 2009 at 6:53 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

One week ago today ago today I was laid off from my second job. The job that I was hoping and praying would become full time, since I was already scheduled to be laid off from my first job.

It was 4:42pm (and I’m off at 4:45pm) and my boss IMed me and said that he needed to talk to me before I left. He said he’d be in, in a minute, to talk to me. So he walks into my office at 4:45pm exactly and says that he has some bad news for me. Unfortunately, he had to let me go because the company is struggling during these troubling economic times. (Apparently over the past three months they’ve had more bad debt from clients than they’ve had throughout the entire history of the company.)

All of this is completely understandable from a business perspective, but it sure would have been nice to know ahead of time! He literally had my last paycheck in his pocket and said I was paid through the end of the week and that I didn’t need to come in the next day. Don’t you think every week, when I repeatedly asked him about the future of my position and whether or not I’d become full time soon he could’ve at least said SOMETHING?! Of course not, that would require respect and common courtesy.  

Oh well, everything happens for a reason and if nothing else I made a really great connection while working at that job. This woman who was doing some consulting work for the company is so awesome and she and I really hit it off. Since leaving the company, we’ve exchanged multiple emails and we’ve made plans to hang out soon.

On a more positive note, I GOT A NEW JOB!!! I’ve been applying to tons and TONS of jobs without much of a response. Which doesn’t really come as a big surprise considering there are thousands of people out of work right now. I got a new, better paying job and I’m so freaking excited! So many people are out of jobs right now and it was really touch and go there for awhile, I thought I’d be joining the unemployed masses, but thankfully I’m not.

J was so funny, he says to me, “How exactly does this work? You quit your job back in November of 2008 only to be hired back with a $2 raise not even a week later. Then this January you find a second job, two months later you’re laid off from BOTH of your jobs and then you get a new job paying you $2 more an hour!! You’ve got some kinda luck honey!” By the way, J has been completely amazing during this entire process. He’s so supportive and I can’t thank him enough for being my rock (more about him and his incredibleness later).

My new job is in a dentist’s office. I don’t have any dental or medical experience, so it’s going to be a brand new learning experience for me, which is pretty exciting. I’m utterly addicted to learning new things, plus it’s going to be such great experience for me to learn the ins and outs of a completely different industry than I’ve worked in before.

So that’s my news for the moment, I haven’t had much time to blog between work, school, and attempting to have a miniscule personal life. I’m super stoked for all of the changes to come: a new house, a new job, and hopefully a new job for J too! We’re on a roll!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You’re TOTALLY on a roll! Things seem to be going great for you and J! You get a new job, where you’ll learn new things, thus making your CV richer and with greater variety! And it pays more! Congrats!

  2. Woohoo for things working out. I am glad and hope this trend continues, not just for you, but for everyone.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

