My Sweet Boy

March 27, 2009 at 9:02 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

I haven’t written in awhile because I’ve been so incredibly busy. I just wanted to write a quick blog about how amazing J has been over the past few weeks.

He’s been so supportive and comforting and just plain awesome. When I was super stressed about losing BOTH of my jobs, he just kept telling me that everything would be okay and we’d figure everything out. He told me to just keep sending out applications and resumes and going on interviews, that something would happen for us.

One night we were in the shower and we started to run out of hot water. He was done showering, so he got out, but I was smack dab in the middle of shaving my legs. I filled the tub with lukewarm water and continued to shave my legs. I was trembling and J asked me if I wanted him to heat some water on the stove for me. I laughed at him and told him no, I’d be fine.

Next thing I know I hear the clanging of pots and pans and I thought to myself, “No, he’s not really heating up water for me is he?” A few minutes later he came in with a giant pot of hot water and poured it into my bath. My heart (and not to mention my poor frozen tushie) instantly melted. It was such an incredibly sweet gesture and I love him for it.

The day that I went for the interview and was subsequently offered my new job, I got home from work and I was so excited to tell J about the job offer. He listened to me and all of my excitedness; he was super stoked for me too. All of a sudden he looks at me, in the middle of playing his PS2 softball game, and he says, “Okay, go get dressed, we’re leaving.” In the most calm, decisive manner.  I asked him, “Where are we going?” and he said, “It’s a surprise! I’m not telling, go get dressed.”

I didn’t even end up changing because I was still in my work clothes, which are relatively nice business clothes, so I just went dressed like that. We’re driving and all along I had a sneaking suspicion we were going to dinner. So we pull into Casa Ramos (a local Mexican restaurant) and I said, “I knew it! I knew we were going to dinner!” J said, “I figured a celebration is in order, you’ve been working so hard to find a new job and you’ve gotten a lot of refusal letters in the mail, but you just kept going. Not everyone can do it and I’m very proud of you baby. Congratulations on your new job!”

Is he not the sweetest thing ever? I love him; he continues to make my heart melt, even after almost 3 years. That’s not to say that we didn’t have our share of spats over the past few weeks, which is to be expected when you’re strapped for money and one of you loses your job. But he never ceases to amaze me, he’s my calm in the middle of the storm, he keeps me grounded, and continues to reassure me that everything will be okay.

Oh and that night at dinner, he made me drink 2 Cadillac margaritas! If you’ve never had one, definitely order one. They’re oh so yummy and super potent. Needless to say, I was in a very giggly, fun mood thanks to my adorable boyfriend. New job, sweet boy, strong cocktails, yummy Mexican food, who could ask for more?

img00671

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. How sweet. I am glad that you have someone great like him to stick beside you!

  2. Awww! He’s adorable!! And I think you should add this blog to the list!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

