Troublesome Tuesday

December 2, 2009 at 4:40 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

My goal was to blog every day this week, but then yesterday was a crazy-filled day and I felt like a chicken with my head cut off to say the least. Monday night when I went to sleep it was pouring rain, I vaguely remember J waking me up around 3:30am telling me it was snowing like crazy outside. At 7:00am I got up to use the bathroom before starting my day and to my surprise when I flicked the light switch in the bathroom…NOTHING.

At first, in my groggy state, I thought maybe I didn’t flip the switch up all the way (you know when you flip a switch and it gets stuck mid-flip?), but then after I flipped the switch again and even tried the fan switch I realized the power was out. (Good thing I shower at night.) So I went to the window and saw the most serene, picturesque sight…it had been snowing so hard that all traces of previous tire tracks and footprints were covered, all of the lights were out in our entire neighborhood, and the only thing lighting up the block was the bright white snow.

I proceeded to get all of my makeup and hair essentials into a bag so I could take them to work with me to get ready. J went down to the garage and started my car for me; he said he wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to get out since it had snowed so much. (Mental picture-It snowed about a foot to a foot and a half within the span of three hours and I drive a 2009 Toyota Corolla that’s only a foot off the ground at most.)

So once I packed my stuff into the car, I started to back out of the garage, with J standing there watching me (not to put me on the spot or anything). I got all the way down the driveway and when I hit the very end I got stuck. For the next 45 minutes, I sat in the car watching J attempt to get me unstuck. Now this is not to say that I didn’t help and just sat there staring at him, I did after all have to give it gas and switch from reverse to drive, as directed.

After 45 minutes of snow shoveling, rigging up tie downs from my car to J’s truck, and J sliding his truck into the ditch in our front yard (don’t worry he got himself out, which was pretty amazing to watch) we finally got it unstuck. Once we got my car unstuck he ended up having to use his truck to push my car the last two feet into the garage, needless to say it was an eventful morning.

J drove me to work and when I got there I realized that we only had power to certain outlets throughout the office. I spent half of my day flipping breakers, plugging and unplugging things, and eventually had to plug our printer into an extension cord, which was then plugged into a surge protector. Around noon we finally got power back to all of the outlets.

After the day I had yesterday, I went home, curled up with Brody, and we took ourselves a nice nap. When I got home the power was still off!! But by the time I woke up from my nap, there was *thankfully* power again. How was your Tuesday??

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

