What Dreams Are Made Of

January 1, 2010 at 5:18 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Last week I had the most incredible dream. I’ve never had a dream about my dad and I’ve always wondered why. My dream last night was so vivid and real that I woke up fighting back tears, it felt as if he had really come to me in the dream. So here’s how the dream took place:

We were at the house I grew up in, it was my mom, my sister, and I and we were sitting on the back porch. All of a sudden my dad’s truck and another truck drove through our field and parked next to the gate. I looked down at the truck and then looked back at my mom and sister and all they did was smile and nod at me, as if to say, “Yes honey, it’s him.” Then I saw my dad get out of the truck and walk back to the man in the other truck and they exchanged money and some item I couldn’t see, then the man in the other truck drove off.

My dad came up onto the deck and said hello to my mom and sister and showed them the necklace he had just bought from the man. He made some comment like, “Here, give it to someone who wants it, like your uncle or someone.” (Really random right?) The necklace was made of this chain that resembled the chains you see on a swing set.

Then as my dad was talking to them he stopped and goes, “Geez, that kid’s never going to leave is she?” And he was looking around as if trying to find me. It was so weird, it was as if he could feel my presence, but he couldn’t see me, it was as if he was looking right through me and I didn’t understand. My mom said, “She’s right here. She’s standing right in front of you.” He looked straight through me and then put his arms out as if he was going to hug some invisible figure. I looked at my mom and she nodded for me to go ahead. I put my arms out nervously because I didn’t think I was going to be able to feel him and I really didn’t want to be disappointed when I couldn’t feel him.

When I put my arms out suddenly I felt his arms wrap around me, I could feel him! I started to cry and held my breath in order to stop myself. He looked at my mom and sister and said, “Why does she feel so tense?” My mom and sister started laughing and said, “She’s trying not to cry.” He laughed and said, “Don’t cry, it’s okay. You’ve gotta be tough, you can’t cry,” to which my mom laughed and said, “She’s just like me Chuck, she cries over everything.” He just smiled and said, “It’s okay,” and hugged me even tighter. At that I lost it and just kept crying. 

A few minutes later I was still teary eyed, but I started to chuckle, my mom looked at me puzzled and I said, “He’s so tiny.” Everyone started laughing and as we pulled away from each other I smiled and my dad just rolled his eyes. (My dad was only 5’5″ or 5’6″, about the same size as me.)

For a minute he stepped back with his arms on my shoulders and just looked at me and then smiled at my mom. My mom smiled back and said, “She really does look like you doesn’t she?” and he nodded with a smile.

I hadn’t realized this whole time that in my peripheral vision my grandma had been standing behind him, smiling and watching the entire interaction between all of us. The last thing I remember before I woke up was just watching my dad, mom, and sister interact as my grandma stood smiling and I stood in awe of it all.

I don’t know what the dream meant, but I do know that it was the most incredible, life-like dream I’ve ever felt.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

