Pick Five Fridays – Vol. 1 Issue 2

January 15, 2010 at 12:12 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

It’s the third Friday of the month again, time for Pick Five Friday!

BLOG:

This week’s blog is written by my lovely friend Kerri. I have a GIANORMOUS bloggy crush on her. Her nervous rants, obsessive thoughts, inspiring openness, and precious crafty ways never cease to amaze me. She’s one of those people that makes you think to yourself, “Man I really want to hang out with her…like…daily!” Every time I read her blog I always tell myself I’m going to start blogging more because she’s so damn inspiring. Some of you may know her better as Your Wishcake. She’s also got an awesome Etsy shop where she makes incredibly cute wallets, hairpins, notebooks, and etc. so make sure you check that out too!

Your Wishcake

WEBSITE:

I’ve been using this website called The Daily Plate for a few years now and I love it. For those of you who made a New Year’s resolution to eat healthier, get back into shape, or lose weight you’ll love this site too. It’s just like the tools sites like Weight Watchers give you, only it’s free and it doesn’t stick to the “points” that Weight Watchers uses. You can log all of your food in and it gives you graphs to tell you your percentage of carbs, protein, and fat. Logging your food is really simple, you just enter the food you ate, hit search, and it brings up a list of options according to your search subject. You can also log your physical activity and it automatically calculates your daily caloric intake based on how many pounds a week you’d like to lose.

ETSY:

I came across this shop today and I just love this idea. I may even have one made when we get married. Bosheree makes these beautiful, custom signs. I’ve seen the idea done before and I think it’s a very unique touch for a wedding and then after the wedding you can keep the sign in your house forever. Perhaps it’ll even help forgetful husbands to remember their anniversary dates. 🙂 This particular sign is from the wedding of my amazing designer friend Kaleigha.

Bosheree

GADGET:

Have you ever wondered why they make laptop cords so HUGE or why no one has figured out how to make smaller ones by now? Then this device was created for you. (I’m starting to sound like one of those lame infomercials) Anyway, I found this charger and immediately fell in love. It weighs 43% less than the average laptop charger and you can plug other gadgets into it because it has a built-in USB charging port. It’s the Kensington Ultra Compact Notebook Power Adapter . Pretty cool right?

RECIPE:

I’ve decided to share one of my very favorite recipes with you. I made this recipe for the first time a few years ago and J just LOVED it. He always tells me it’s one of his favorite dishes that I make. Who can blame him? Apples, onions, and bacon stuffed into a pork chop, covered in an orange-pineapple gravy, hello?! In the words of Rachael Ray, YUM-O! I usually make it with a side of brown rice or mashed potatoes, more to pour the gravy over of course!

Apple Onion Stuffed Pork Chops

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aw, I just saw this post and it made me all melty! Thank you so much for all your kind words – you are just too sweet. 🙂 Oh, you flatter me so! Heehee.

    Thanks for linking to that amazing etsy shop, too – Jay and I have a sign like that and I just adore it. I’ve been hoping to find a shop that makes things like that…they are the perfect wedding gifts.

    Lovely post!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

